Celebrating Lunar New Year in the Library

Many of the students in my school celebrate Lunar New Year or Tet. This year is the Year of the Rabbit in the Chinese Lunar calendar. I found the decorations in my local variety store for just a few dollars each including the Lanterns which came in packs of 2 for $5.

Lunar New Year Lanterns
Lunar New Year Lanterns

I bought the gorgeous red satin fabric at a local fabric store for $5 per metre. The best thing about the satin is that it allows us to make a quick transition from Lunar New Year to Library Lovers Day on February 14.

Red satin Banners with decorations in front
Red satin Banners with decorations in front

 

I have also used a machine called Craft Robo to design circles of rabbits using an image I found at : http://nearnessofdistance.blogspot.com/2011/02/chinese-new-year-rabbit.html

I put the image into Adobe Illustrator and used the craft robo machine to cut them out in red and gold cardboard. I put all the circles on the windows at the front and back of the library.’

Red Rabbit cutout
Red Rabbit cutout
Gold Rabbit Cutout
Gold Rabbit Cutout
Here are some of the other decorations:
3 Tier Lanterns
3 Tier Lanterns
Prosperity Knot decoration on Banner- detail
Prosperity Knot decoration on Banner- detail

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar