Creating a display for Bookweek 2011

The theme for this year’s book week is One World, Many Stories. With such an open theme, I found it very challenging to come up with a display idea for the Library I work in.

The windows at the front of the library before their transformation
The windows at the front of the library before their transformation

When I recently recieved a new puppet from Vietnam for my collection of puppets- I was inspired! Before books, puppets were used to tell stories. What if I used my collection of puppets from around the world as my display. I could also use the windows at the front of the library similar to department store windows and put the puppets in them.

I wanted to try and make each window like a puppet theatre so it needs a curtain and a banner celebrating the theme. I found the curtains image on the internet at http://www.myvbay.com/2011/06/one-enchanted-eveing-musical-review.html, and I found the banner/ ribbon in MS Publisher 2007 clipart.

To make the curtains fit the window, I measured the windows and transferred those measurements to MS Publisher 2007. I then resized the curtains to fit, printed it out on multiple sheets of A3 paper, glued the pages together and cut out the opening to see the puppets. I then used sticky tape to ‘hang’ the curtains in the window.

This is my puppet Lachlan Macquarie representing Muppets
This is my puppet Lachlan Macquarie representing Muppets
Punch and Judy Puppets holding book week books
Punch and Judy Puppets holding book week books

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The backgrounds behind the puppets are 3 panel folding display boards with black fabric draped over the top. All of the puppets except my Vietnamese Water Puppets are holding scaled copies of book week nominated titles. I could not attach copies of the book week books to the puppet’s hands without damaging the paintwork on the puppet.

Wayang Kulit Shadow Puppets Holding more bookweek titles.
Wayang Kulit Shadow Puppets Holding more bookweek titles.
Vietnamese Water Puppets
Vietnamese Water Puppets

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This has been a wonderful opportunity to blend my passion for puppets with my role as the Teacher Librarian as well as creating a talking point around the school. Many teachers have suggested that I design animated windows for Christmas just like some of the major department stores here in Australia… we’ll see when Christmas comes around.

Book week will be held this year from August 20 to 26th.

Window sized poster of the Book Week book covers
Window sized poster of the Book Week book covers

 

Another window sized poster of Book Week titles
Another window sized poster of Book Week titles
For more information about book week, visit the Children’s Book Council of Australia at http://cbca.org.au/bookweek.htm
Happy reading,
Miss H

10 thoughts on “Creating a display for Bookweek 2011

  • July 20, 2011 at 6:47 pm
    Permalink

    Fabulous! What a talented individual you are!

  • July 20, 2011 at 9:40 pm
    Permalink

    Fantastic! What an inspiring transformation! Bet all will be familiar with the shortlist titles.

  • July 20, 2011 at 10:20 pm
    Permalink

    Fantastic Katherine. What fantastic combining of the library window shape, viewing area, your puppet collection and Book Week! Your school community would love it! Congratulations and thanks for sharing.

  • July 21, 2011 at 9:03 am
    Permalink

    Those windows make suc a terrific statement. Beautiful!
    Enjoy the responses and let us know how the kids react. 🙂

  • July 21, 2011 at 11:03 am
    Permalink

    Oh Katherine, I am just in awe of your creativity! What a lucky school to have such a dedicated and enthusiastic teacher librarian. Congratulations and thanks so much for sharing it with us.

  • July 21, 2011 at 11:38 am
    Permalink

    These windows are brilliant!! Thanks for sharing. You’re amazing to have your display ready so early!!

  • July 21, 2011 at 12:09 pm
    Permalink

    Katherine,

    The windows look FABULOUS!!!! Your students are extremely lucky to have such a talented TL.

  • July 22, 2011 at 5:49 pm
    Permalink

    How inspiring – thank you for sharing! I’ll show our library technician on Monday! She does our displays and I’m sure she will also appreciate your wonderful idea.

  • Pingback: Musings of a Teacher Librarian and Puppeteer - Creating a display for Bookweek 2011 | Australian Book Week 2011 | Scoop.it

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar