Welcome to the Library! (Via Halloween in Wonderland…)

Paper collection for Halloween in Wonderland

If you read my post on Movember in the Library, you might remember the plain open/closed sign hanging off the moustache in the window. I have never really liked that sign and on a recent trip to my local scrapbooking store I came across a collection of papers called Halloween in Wonderland. This collection of papers is from Graphic 45 and I adore how they have used the original drawings from Alice in Wonderland and added a halloween/ steam punk twist to them.

In the interest of ethical scholarship and acknowledging sources, this is where I found the image of the paper collection.
 
I fell in love with the graphics the minute I saw the papers and it fitted in beautifully with my desire to have a story book/ literature related twist to my new open/closed sign. The new sign is my first ‘off the page’ project in scrapbooking. The lettering was done using my robotic cutter called a craft robo connected to my laptop. The font is called Alice in Wonderland Regular which I found as a free font from www.dafonts.com. The photos below were taken by my wonderful Library assistant who takes the most beautiful photographs.
Hope you like the results:
At last! We thought you'd never arrive!

 

Thankyou, come again...

12 thoughts on “Welcome to the Library! (Via Halloween in Wonderland…)

  • March 26, 2012 at 10:21 am
    Permalink

    Looks fabulous, wish I had the skills (& patience).

  • March 26, 2012 at 10:23 am
    Permalink

    Lovely work. Craft + Library = Amazing!

  • March 26, 2012 at 11:14 am
    Permalink

    What an entrance! Fabulous!

  • March 26, 2012 at 11:44 am
    Permalink

    Looks fantastic! What a great idea! You’re very creative Katherine.

  • March 26, 2012 at 11:57 am
    Permalink

    Looks great! What size are the finished signs?

  • March 26, 2012 at 12:33 pm
    Permalink

    Really inspirational! Thanks for posting it.

  • March 26, 2012 at 2:20 pm
    Permalink

    Wow – so creative and attractive – well done!

  • March 26, 2012 at 2:37 pm
    Permalink

    The signs are 29cm by 21cm. The main board is a Kaisercraft wooden placemat with rounded corners which I drilled 2 holes in the top for the cord. I am glad you like them!

  • March 26, 2012 at 6:09 pm
    Permalink

    LOVE THEM BOTH!!!!

  • March 26, 2012 at 8:53 pm
    Permalink

    The window displays look fantastic! Very impressed with the way you have used the scrapbooking paper. As an ardent scrapbooker, I will now look at using some ideas in my library! Thanks for taking the time to share your work.

  • March 27, 2012 at 6:50 am
    Permalink

    I love this way of promoting children’s literature! It would certainly entice me inside.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar